The problem with one niche is that when we examined it it wasn't properly built. Just kind of soak of residue water and let it dry. In my opinion, a typical structural header and jack stud assembly can still be acceptable in some circumstances if the wall is non-structural, but this assembly must be built flawlessly. Then tile and grout! I am an engineer and have never heard such a thing. This post is for information purposes only and should NOT be interpreted as professional advice. We were initially looking at doing a horizontal niche but it is an exterior wall. One of the vertical 24 studs was cut and framed into a horizontal rectangle to the two adjacent studs, and it did not seem to be load bearing wall, and the framing was properly reinforced. Choosing the shower niche height in the freestanding shower unit depends on the people who will use the bathroom regularly. We made this blog to help others like ourselves get all the useful information needed to build a better bathroom all in one place! Thank you for so many informative articles, your website is very helpful! Can you shower when the power is out? This can cause mold to grow here which is not disastrous but it doesnt look very nice. The back of the niche tile is what we would like to remove, the sides and border tiles are fine. I would be more concerned with the use of Kerdi Board to replace the 5/8 drywall of your shower wall. Let grout cure according to manufacturer's directions. Regularly inspecting and resealing the niche as needed can help to ensure that it remains properly sealed and protected against water damage and other problems. Baking soda is a gentle, abrasive cleaner that can be used to remove tough stains and soap scum buildup from shower niche tile. Shower niches are a great addition to any bathroom, offering a convenient place to store body wash and organize your shower essentials freeing up the floor space. Most ceramic and porcelain tiles have glazing that gives the face of the tile a